Skip to Content

Mary Barnard

Mary Barnard became the first curator of The Poetry Collection of the University at Buffalo in 1939.  The Poetry Collection had been started two years earlier by Director of Libraries, Charles D. Abbott, who intended it to be a collection of the first editions and manuscripts of 20th century Anglophone poets.  Though she had no experience working in libraries or special collections, Barnard's knowledge of contemporary poetry was seen as a great asset.  While curator, she corresponded with poets, and arranged and cataloged donated material.  Mary Barnard left the Poetry Collection in 1943.  

Source: Barnard, Mary.  Assault on Mount Helicon: A Literary Memoir. University of California Press, 1984, p. 165-201.

Affiliation(s): Libraries
Record Group(s): 13